Job Etiquette: Home Sweet Home

Over the past year, there is one question that has been dominant in almost every interview whether in person or by telephone: “Can I work from home?” Or, perhaps they will say, “I am used to telecommuting and have a home office.” Some suggest, “I can come in a few days a week and work at home for the rest of the week.” These questions often happen on first interviews or first phone screens.

The second most popular question is about company culture. What is it like to work at the company? What types of people succeed in your company? Is it casual, fast paced, what’s a typical work day?

These questions made me think more about what it means to work at home and more about company culture. If you work at home the space could be varied just like different companies or organizations:

– Close to lunch spots: My kitchen
– Casual: My family room
– Easy commute: Car in my driveway/garage/parking spot
– Dress code casual: My pajamas
– Formal Dress code: Jeans and t-shirt
– Fast paced: I have a large family
– Slow paced: I live alone
– Pet friendly: My dog is happy to have me around
– Micro-manager supervisor: I talk to myself

What about employees who regularly work overtime or stay late more often, then not to catch up? Some people might say they “live” at work. Does that mean they are working from HOME?

The point is, both ways can work depending on your job, your job description, the company and the situation. Flexibility is great and there are many options to help you be productive. Many companies have the ability to be more accommodating and others would like their employees to be on site to maintain a corporate culture. Some allow employees to do a combination of both. Whether your home is work or your work is home, what is important is to make sure you can separate both spaces. Maintain a good balance of both because honestly, do you really want to live in the work space or change your home into a company?

P.S. On an interview, don’t make it your first question.

Talk soon.

Leave a comment