Job Etiquette: Breaking Bold

I miss Walter White. I know, I’m not alone! I went as far as calling my hotel (for a scheduled business trip) on the night of “Felina” (the finale of Breaking Bad) to see if they had the cable station so I could view it. I needed to watch it. Phew, they let me watch in the lobby! True story.

I decided to incorporate Walt into my blog and thought about what I could say:

  • Would you want him for your boss?
  • Would you want him for your colleague?
  • Would you want him to run your company?
  • Would you want him in Human Resources? (Yikes!)

There was a point in the story line where Walt reveals something about his job change, lifestyle change and job fulfillment which I could understand and hopefully you can too. Note: I am not suggesting that his choices in his job change to any of my readers. However, he revealed some insights about his choices.

  • He was good at what he did.
  • He felt “alive”.
  • He liked his work.
  • His made changes for himself.

In my last blog about knowing your “work self”, I wanted you to understand what it is that you require to be successful and comfortable in the work environment. Hopefully when you are in the right position, you have the potential to succeed and learn about career development. Many of you face changing jobs, working with out-placement, finding a job, internship, part time job, temporary assignment or volunteer position. You may be lucky and find it in the area you have studied for or dreamed about but maybe not.  In the new position, try to do your best and “be good at it”. Maybe you will like it or maybe it will lead you to something else you relate it to. If you start to “like” the job, even better. If you gain some self respect and some salary it will help you to feel “alive” in a useful and constructive way. The enthusiasm and work history you develop will transfer to your next role and it might make you feel a lot better about yourself. Pride in your work is revealed in many ways.

Your resume can show your work history; however your enthusiasm, work ethic and passion for what you do or where you volunteer appear in your persona, speech, and your smile. Employers enjoy speaking with you and want you to join their team.

I still will miss Walt and I still won’t advise you to choose his vocation, although for him it was successful, but in some ways different what you expected. If you ask me, that is Breaking Bold!

Talk soon.

2 thoughts on “Job Etiquette: Breaking Bold

  1. I don’t know Walt, but you did a fine job conveying his character role to your audience..
    Once again, great post!

Leave a comment